Welcome!

Hey there, fellow lifer, and welcome to the just about life blog!

By way of an introduction to the JAL blog, I think it would be a good idea to explain the title. There are 3 main reasons why I’ve gone for thejustaboutlifeblog:

1) Well, firstly, the blog will be about life. It will be just about life. Makes sense, eh?

Now admittedly, that’s a fairly broad subject matter.. but having previously written several blogs, each dealing with a specific area, and having been a reader of many more, I’ve come to the conclusion that unless you’re VERY good, then having a niche area for your blog is not always such a great idea. The number of blogs that I regularly keep an eye on now is naturally dropping off because I feel many have run their course, there’s only a certain number of ways that the author can keep making the same points (unless, as I said, you’re VERY good), or they end up just saying what someone else has already said (heaven forbid!). I find this to be true especially in the world of “personal finance”.. Now, personal finance is an important aspect of most people’s lives, and it is important to me. Well with thejustaboutlifeblog, I will get to write about it, but I won’t feel obliged to barf out any old digital vomit about it every week. This works for me, and hopefully it works for you too.

2) I have no doubt that, at times, the blog will be “focusing on” (i.e. venting spleen about) the excesses of these times. So the other way of looking at that just about bit in the title is that I’ll be trying to get across a message of having, doing, making and using….

just about enough (and no more than that)

Don’t worry, that doesn’t mean I’m going to tell you all to be layabout slackers! There’s a difference between doing just about enough and not doing enough.. a very, very important difference. One leads to health, wealth and satisfaction for all, and the other, well, it leads to none of those things. Which do you seek – all or none?

3) justaboutlife.wordpress.com is already taken 😉

Although, frustratingly, at the time of writing I notice it’s not being used.. if anyone would like to help me commandeer it, please give me a shout.

So hey, it’s nice to have you here, thanks for reading. Drop me a line sometime!

JAL

 

Leave a Reply

